The Yellow Bicycle

100 word challenge

We were walking down the old avenue near my house when it happened. It was the sunniest day of the year and my t-shirt was sticking to me as sweat poured down my forehead, stinging my eyes. I loved to walk down here in the spring time when the newly born lambs could be seen leaping over the bright yellow daffodils under the sweltering sun. The creamy texture of the ice-cream filled me with joy as my friend and I screamed with laughter. We turned the corner of the avenue and saw a yellow bicycle leaning against a telephone pole. I was surprised to see it as no children had lived down here for years, the only person I knew that lived here was an old man who spent all of his time complaining about the grass that grew in the middle of the avenue. I looked over at my friend but she wasn’t there. She was riding the bike, whizzing down the avenue!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *